• yopa banner

Aside from collaboration between the government and the private sector, the campaign will focus majority of its resources to encourage participation from the general public through digital promotions. Six (6) representative protected areas have been selected by BMB (two PAs each from Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao, which are to be determined) to be highlighted in the information campaign. These PAs are:

  1. Bongsanglay Natural Park;
  2. Apo Reef Natural Park;
  3. Samar Island Natural Park;
  4. Balinsasayao Twin Lakes Natural Park;
  5. Mt. Hamiguitan Range Wildlife Sanctuary; and
  6. Mt. Timpoong-Hibok-hibok Natural Monument

The six PAs were selected using the following set of criteria:

  1. Legislated protected area
  2. Accessibility/availability of transport system to the site on a regular basis (going to the PA on a daily basis)
  3. Peace and order condition
  4. Has high potential for tourism but such potential has not yet been fully explored/developed, thus would need support
  5. With operational Protected Area Management Board (PAMB)
  6. Has set up on IPAF with clear, operational fee system
  7. Availability of materials to lessen the documentation cost, etc. (ie. IEC materials)
  8. With existing facilities ready for ecotourism (visitor center, cottages, kiosk, souvenir center, etc.)
  9. Pas that showcase best practice/s (PA protection by IP or local communities, active participation of local govt units in managing protected areas)
  10. Presence of and protection of biodiversity in the PA